Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ping between router and pc

Hello everyone, I am relatively new to networking. I am trying to ping between router and pc

pc 10.0.0.1 255.0.0.0

router 10.0.0.8 255.0.0.0

GATEWAY 10.0.0.1

I will share screenshots with the configuration.

Thank you in advance

11 Replies 11

Martin L
VIP
VIP

PC should have gateway set to point towards its router. Something tells me that 10.0.0.1 should be IP of a router and PC should have IP of 10.0.0.8 and PC gateway of 10.0.0.1.  Usually 1st or last IP on the network/subnet belongs to router - easier to remember.

Regards, ML
**Please Rate All Helpful Responses **

Thank you for your reply Martin, I set the router with gateway of 10.0.0.254.

router ip 10.0.0.8

pc 10.0.0.9

pc gateway 10.0.0.254

Still no connectivity,

They are in same subnet, still dont get whre is the problem.

Kind regards, 

pavel

PC gateway IP should be router ip 10.0.0.8, not 10.0.0.254.

is this real gear? if so, you need a crossover Cat 5 cable; not straight thru which could connect PC and router via L2 switch, or via any switch or any hub.

if this is Packet tracer exercise, you can attach your file here in a zip format. if you do not have PT, get it via Net academy for free.

Regards, ML
**Please Rate All Helpful Responses **

https://www.netacad.com/courses/packet-tracer/introduction-packet-tracer

During lesson 1 you will have link to download PT for free

you do not need to go thru the whole 10 hrs of this course but I recommend most of it. 

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If this router connecting outside, the Gateway will be towards ISP.

here is a suggestion: (this subnet mask too big for a small network)  

pc 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.0

Gateway: 10.0.0.8 (if you retain the same IP for a router)   - but my suggestion is 10.0.0.254 as below

router 10.0.0.254 255.255.255.0

the route towards ISP once we have information,