Views
Helpful
Replies

Please help me Load Balance Across ADSL/Cable

rogerfarrington
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

The place that I work has a large pipe to the net for normal use, but uses ADSL/Cable lines for guest/customer Internet access - we have about 12 of these.

At the moment we are fining tat some of these links are virtually never used whereas others are saturated at peak times. The hope is to bundle all of these connection into a single virtual link - this should enable us to get rid of a few of them and will same us a tone of money, as they are running at the maximum speed so if we have to provide more capacity we'll be looking at expensive leased lines.

We use mainly 3750's and 6509's in our network and would rather not buy any new hardware if we can avoid it.

As I'm studying SWITCH right now, acronyms like HSRP and GLBP spring to mind but I don't think they are right for this job.

Can someone please point me to the relevant info to do this? Or if you're feeling kind, do me a sample config to have one device loadbalance across two connections to the Internet.

Thanks.

6 Replies 6

Abzal
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

Here is a good example:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-8313

Hope it will help.

Best regards,
Abzal

Best regards,
Abzal

Thanks for this, but it's not quite what I was hoping for. I can appreciate the method, but I was hoping for something similar to the way EIGRP would have allowed unequal cost load balancing on an internal network.

I understand there would be limitations in any case - I don't expect one device to be able to have 300Mbs for a single TCP session spread over 12 lines, but I would like the bandwidth shared more inteligently that just splitting it based on protocol or odd/even/etc IP addresses.

Ok, then.

Please share your network topology. And what exactly you need.

Hope it will help.

Best regards,
Abzal

Best regards,
Abzal