cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS Configuration on ASR920

aljoush12
Level 1
Level 1

Hello expert, I am new to QoS configuration on the ASR920. I have created the policy map below. The goal is to prioritize the Class PLATINUM during congestion. If Class PLATINUM requires more bandwidth than allocated, it should be able to receive additional bandwidth from other queues during periods of non-congestion. I would appreciate your feedback on this configuration.

policy-map Network_EGRESS_Policy 

class PLATINUM 

bandwidth percent 30 

shape average percent 100 

class GOLD 

bandwidth percent 25 

class SILVER 

bandwidth percent 20 

class COPPER 

bandwidth percent 10 

class BRONZE 

bandwidth percent 10 

class Network_Control 

bandwidth percent 5 

class class-default 

fair-queue

Thank you

7 Replies 7

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You probably don't need any of your shaper statements and you didn't provide class-default an bandwidth allocation.

Your Platinum class has the largest allocated bandwidth percentage, but that not the same as prioritzation over other classes.  For prioritization, you need to make it a LLQ class, with the priority statement.

Hi Joseph, 

Thank you for the quick response. I initially configured "Priority" for the class PLATINUM, but I observed that it drops packets when traffic exceeds 30% of the line rate, even when other queues are not being utilized. After applying a shaper, it no longer drops any packets. I found examples where the default class is configured with fair-queue without allocating bandwidth. Is it recommended to allocate bandwidth for the default class?

When you use the class priority statement the bandwidth setting sets an implicit police.  So, traffic in excess should be dropped.

Yes, class-default should have a bandwidth allocation, even with FQ.  Possibly the configuration examples were pre-HQF.

Hi Joseph,