cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Regarding private and public ip address

arpitdesai12
Level 1
Level 1

Okay...I am new to cisco, just preparing for my CCNA exam. I had doubt regarding public IP addressing scheme and private IP addressing scheme.

Not actually doubt but i wanted to make sure my understanding regarding it..here's what i picture about it...

ok...so when when i have my router's one interface having public IP nd all other interface private IP address. so whenever my data with packet as source address of private IP reaches to public IP...does router converts it to Public ip and sends it out...without my NAT on....because whenever i ping to my Public ip's another interface connected to another router...i recieve request timed out not destination host unreachable

22 Replies 22

Hey !!!

thanx a lot for ur efforts....i just removed NAT cumpltly....all pool....modified interfaces everything

and poof nw i m able to ping widout any NAT....i think i just made diz complex...thing was pretty simple....but i m just newbie to Networking world and really amazed to see diz forum...u guys are awesome....so much to learn here...really thnx a lot....and yah i m going for first step to enter cisco...dat is goin to takin CCNA  604-802 composite exam...ive read Todd lammle's study guide for once...nw what should i do further

Arpit,

you're welcome and don't hesitate if you have some more questions!

Good luck with the exam!

Cheers!!!

Best regards,

Jan

Yeah i forgot to ask u in the same network der is one more thing i didnt understood ive enabled Ospf in all routers yet I m not getting cumplete table in last router R5....i think there is some problem with process no. or i dnt knw...just check nd let me knw

Hi Arpit,

the problem is that you have configured more OSPF processes on just one interface.

Here is an explanation, why it is not possible - from Peter Paluch :