Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing to the internet

wilsonleonardy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm new to Cisco router.

I've been asked to create a network for a hotel internet service.

I'm currently configuring Cisco 1941 (non-wireless), and I've been stuck for a while now.

So, I have 2 network

192.168.0.* (ethernet0/0) and 192.168.1.* (ethernet0/1)

i connect my modem to ethernet0/0 and the client switch to ethernet0/1

I manage to ping the modem from a client, and it's working great.

the problem is i couldn't get through the internet.

is there any configuration that i missed?

and also, is it possible to manage the bandwidth to the client?

Thanks.

72 Replies 72

Hi Alain,

I've tried pinging 8.8.8.8 and do the debug, here attached the log file you've asked, and it's not as long as the last one

And this is the ip static route config:

Gateway of last resort is 192.168.0.1 to network 0.0.0.0

S*    0.0.0.0/0 [1/0] via 192.168.0.1

S     192.168.1.0/24 is directly connected, GigabitEthernet0/0

---------

Regards,

Wilson

Hi,

I still don't see the packets sent from the PC  but only the icmp unreachables. that come from the soho router.

But there is something in your routing table that shouldn't be:

S*    0.0.0.0/0 [1/0] via 192.168.0.1

S     192.168.1.0/24 is directly connected, GigabitEthernet0/0

it should be a directly connected route  like this:

C     192.168.1.0/24 is directly connected, GigabitEthernet0/1

Can you post output of sh run | in ip route and a screenshot of the routes on the soho modem/router

Regards.

Alain.

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.

Alain,

Notice somewhere in the word document theres an attempted send packet to 8.8.8.8 from 192.168.1.11, that is from the pc

Here attached

1. running config

2. ip route

3. ip route from the soho router

Hi Wilson,

effectively I had missed those ones.