cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

TWC Business Class (5 static IP) & 2 3750e stacked switches

bradley
Level 1
Level 1

I am extremely new to networking and I am trying to setup the network in our new warehouse.  I am going to include my topology, but here is what I am hoping to achieve.  We have internet coming in through TWC business class modem/router and 1 line terminating at the switch stack (2 catalyst 3750e: WS-C3750E-48PD-S) port gig1/0/1.  I have created 3 VLANS (2- SERVERS, 3 - USERS, 4 - WIFI).  All the servers will connect directly to VLAN 2 ports, all user computers to VLAN 3 ports, and WIFI access points to VLAN 4 ports.  My question is: Is it possible to have this 1 line terminating at the switch stack support 3 different external static IP addresses, 1 for each VLAN?  How would I setup the switch & modem/router to support this?  I've spent the past few days researching and working on this with little success.  Please let me know if any more information is needed.

5 Replies 5

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

We do not have quite enough information to be able to really answer your question. Am I correct that what you refer to as the router/modem is TWC equipment which they configure and control? Do you know whether the line coming from them to your switch is a standard Ethernet (single untagged vlan) or is a trunk with multiple vlans?

If the line is a trunk then you might have an option to associate a vlan with a public IP. Otherwise you will have to find a different way to associate a public IP with each vlan.