cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Two subnets with 1 router and switch?

jasonfaas
Level 1
Level 1

I may very well be overlooking something as I am still very new to this but one of my practices for an exam coming up is having to be able to use 1 router(4221 it says), 1 switch (2960), and 2 pcs, and I have to create two subnets.  It says in the table that I have to use G0/0/0 AND g0/0/1 on the router, but if there is only one switch, how does that work?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

jasonfaas
Level 1
Level 1

Thank you for the replies.  After a second look, I checked out the topology at the top of the project and it showed the router being directly connected to one of the PC's on one subnet (G0/0/1) and a switch and PC on the other subnet (G0/0/0) so it finally made sense.  I eventually did it all and everything worked, except I got to the point where I could ping everything EXCEPT the VLAN 1 interface on the switch and only with IPv6.  I could ping it with IPv4.  I made sure I had IPv6 unicast-routing enabled on the router and had "sdm prefer dual-ipv4-and-ipv6 default" and reloaded the switch and still couldnt get it.  The odd thing was I could ping right through it to the PC attached to the switch.  Any ideas?  I eventually went and made static routes on the switch and router and I think it worked, however I didnt think at the time that this was necessary since it would ping through the switch to the PC.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

In most cases 1 Interface towards the internet, 1 connected to Lan. with that assumption below example help you :

Router on a stick is the config :

https://networklessons.com/cisco/ccna-routing-switching-icnd1-100-105/how-to-configure-router-on-a-stick

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello

@jasonfaas wrote: