cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

vlan's on layer 3 switches

tobias quartier
Level 1
Level 1

So I am wondering, if you have let's say 2 end-devices from the same vlan and you want to connect them directly to a layer 3 switch without a layer 2 switch in between. How do I create the correct SVI's for both of the ports on the layer 3 switch. I don't really understand how you configure two layer 3 switch ports to the same vlan. Do you simply just give them the same vlan-id and an ip-adress in the same range of that vlan? Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm a bit new to networking :).

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @tobias quartier 

When connecting two end devices from the same VLAN directly to a L3 switch without an intermediate L2 switch, you need to configure the ports on the Layer 3 switch to belong to the same VLAN and set up an SVI (switch virtual interface) for that VLAN to manage Layer 3 routing. Assign the specific ports to the VLAN by configuring them as access ports and specifying the VLAN id. Then, create the VLAN on the switch if it doesn't already exist. After that, configure the SVI for the VLAN by assigning it an IP address, which will serve as the default gateway for the devices within that VLAN. This setup enables both end devices to communicate within the VLAN and access other networks through the SVI. Below are the necessary commands to configure this on a L3 switch:

configure terminal
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 10
no shutdown
exit
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
switchport mode access
no shutdown
exit
vlan 10
name User_VLAN
exit
interface Vlan10
ip address 192.168.10.1 255.255.255.0
no shutdown

Best regards
.ı|ı.ı|ı. If This Helps, Please Rate .ı|ı.ı|ı.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

the 2 endpoint will connect to L2 port of L3SW, this L2 port not need IP so the L3SW accept it 
then you config IP for VLAN SVI 
in end you will get three IP (or more)