Views
Helpful
Replies

What is OSPF Authentication used for

rdanieldrew1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am studying for my CCNA Security and just came across a video talking about OSPF Authentication, but didn't really explain why it would be used.

I know the purpose behind it is to send the routing updates securely, but why would you need this, if all other aspects of your network are secured?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi 

A good best practice is use specific /32 networks into the routing protocols to create adjacencies but imagine some network administrator have the following config:

interface g0/0

description TO-HQ

ip address 10.0.10.2 255.255.255.0

no shutdown

router ospf 1

network 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 area 0

or

network 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 area 0

All the network could be receive routing information or create adjacency with rogue devices (not authorized devices) over some network 10.x.x.x. From my point of view good practices are: 

- Configure as passive LAN interfaces

- Set up the specific IP address to create adjacency, for example use: 10.0.10.2 0.0.0.0 

- Authentication creates a protection layer to avoid any misconfiguration,  So not all the device will be able to participate into the routing domain without a password. 

Hope it is useful

:-)

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Yachay
Level 1
Level 1