Views
Helpful
Replies

N1Kv - change management vlan

Difan Zhao
Level 5
Level 5

Hi experts,

I am very new to this virtual switch product. We run VSMs on Nexus 1010. It currently uses different vlans for management and control.

svs-domain

domain id 200

control vlan 2890

management vlan 643

svs mode L2

We want to change the vlan 643 to 613. IP subnet will stay the same. My question is, will this cause down time?

I would also appreciate very much if you can provide documents which explain to no-vmware-exposure people what control, management and packet vlan do in the VSM. I don't see the VSM has packet vlan configured. How can I find that out?

Thanks,

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

In L3 mode the control and packet networks are not officially used however I have run into issues if they are not avalible its a bit odd with Cisco. 

When you change managment VLAN for the VSM you will disrupt communications between the VSM and vCenter as they communicate over their respective managment IP addresses.  If your vCenter is in the samve VLAN as your VSM managment IP you will need to change the VLAN access for both. 

Are you planning to change the IP address of the VSM or just the VLAN?  If you are simply moving the VLAN only then once you move the route point from the old VLAN to the new VLAN everything should connect back up.  Again traffic will flow even if VSM and vCenter can not communicate, you just cant make configuration changes.  Again I am one who ares on the side of caution and would do this after hours on in a maintinace window.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

I actually had to change the management VLAN and IP of a live production VSM with complete success. However I strongly advise migration everything back to standard VM switching as a precaution. It should be noted in my configuration the VSM and VEM are operating in L3 mode.