cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

N5K err-disabled a port due to DCX-No ACK in 100 PDUs

jneiberger
Level 2
Level 2

I'm super new to Nexus, so I'm not really sure how to troubleshoot this. I did a quick search and found that this is related to DCBX TLVs in LLDP, which we apparently shouldn't be getting on a regular ethernet port. I'm pretty sure this is just a regular ethernet port. (Like I said, I'm pretty new to nexus. lol)  I wonder if the following output indicates that we are receiving and sending DCBX TLVs in LLDP. If so, it sounds like the interface will go into err-disable state if the server stops sending ACK frames.

# show lldp dcbx int e1/17

Local DCBXP Control information:

Operation version: 00  Max version: 00  Seq no: 1  Ack no: 1 

Type/

Subtype    Version    En/Will/Adv Config

004/000     000        Y/N/Y      8906001b21 08

002/000     000        Y/N/Y      0000000064 00000000 00000001

Peer's DCBXP Control information:

Operation version: 00  Max version: 00  Seq no: 1  Ack no: 1 

Type/      Max/Oper

Subtype    Version    En/Will/Err Config

004/000     000/000    Y/Y/N      8906001b21 08

003/000     000/000    Y/Y/Y      ff08

002/000     000/000    Y/Y/N      ffffffff00 00000000 00000008

This is the first time we've run into this. Any idea what might really be going on?

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

calopez2
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Please investigate/verify the Server CNA, i.e. drivers, Compatibility with Server OS version.

If this is recurring, as a temporary workaround you can disable LLDP on interface that connects to Server.

no lldp transmit

no lldp receive

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

calopez2
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Please investigate/verify the Server CNA, i.e. drivers, Compatibility with Server OS version.

If this is recurring, as a temporary workaround you can disable LLDP on interface that connects to Server.

no lldp transmit

no lldp receive