cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New SG300-10 Switch, VLAN Routing Setup with 2 WANs

pkauf
Level 1
Level 1

I have done some searching, but have been unable to find the right situation that matches what I am trying to do.  I'm new to VLAN/Switch Routing, so forgive maybe some newbie type questions.  I have 2 discreet LANS in my network.  192.168.0.* and 192.168.5.*.  the 192.168.5.* network is for my "service" related devices (cameras/automation/etc.), the 192.168.0.* handles everything else.  Due to external access, both networks have a WAN router with its own public IP address.   What I am trying to do is configure my new SG300-10 switch to route LOCAL traffic (LAN) between 192.168.0.*/192.168.5.* and still allow each segment to continue to use it's own path to the internet (each using the current default route for each segment).  I know I want to setup a VLAN for each, but am not quite sure of how to proceed.  Any help or other posts you can point me to would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!  If this doesn't make sense I can put together a picture and post it.

5 Replies 5

Aleksandra Dargiel
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee
Hi Pkauf,
I think I understand what you are trying to accomplish. So I suggest:
at layer 2:
1. create vlan for each of the subnets
2. create trunk to the router (if router supports trunking, dot1q)
that should allow you to extend broadcast domain up to router and keep separated broadcast domains between both subnets

at layer 3:
1. keep the default gateway router IP address, specific to the subnet
2. set static route to access other subnet via switch as next hop - this however needs to be done on each host so it may not scale well.

Please let me know if I got it correct.
Aleksandra