Views
Helpful
Replies

SG300 Setup Help

Don Nelson
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

So here is my current setup & I am going to type this out as best as I can.

I have a modem from my ISP (1 ethernet port) that is running on DHCP & a Cisco Asa5505 that is currently doing DHCP for my devices hooked up to my layer 2 switch on the 192.168.1.x subnet & a cheap WAP just doing internal wifi.

I recently purchased a SG300-10P as certain circumstances were going to require me to hook up a 2nd ASA and was going to need a 2nd port to the outside world for work (They were going to give me a WAP & IP Phone). Things have changed & I currently not sure where to go from here as far as hooking everything up & Im fairly new to networking.

I converted the switch to Layer3 and the latest firmware. I have setup multiple Vlans on the switch & DHCP for each Vlan.

192.168.2.0 PC Network

192.168.3.0 Server Network

192.168.4.0 Wireless Network

192.168.5.0 Guest Wifi Network

I setup Port 10 as an uplink for the Layer 2 switch to allow Vlans 2,3,4. I still have to configure the layer 2 switch with the Vlan information so I can tag ports to get the right IP Addresses.

I have Port 3 setup as a trunk for Vlan 4 & 5 (I have to configure the WAP later on which is fairly easy).

Here is where I am stuck:

Currently my SG300-10P is setup with an IP of 192.168.1.x

Would it make more sense to have the ASA as my router connecting between the Modem and the SG300-10P on the 192.168.1.x network, or would I be better off having the modem plugged into the SG300-10P then have the ASA on one of the ports? Someday I would like to be able to use my 5505 so I can VPN into my network (A whole different ball of wax for another weekend).

I would like to have all of the networks have Internet Access.

I want to restrict the the guest wifi network from seeing the other networks other than Internet.