cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Any idea to change [if password != password:] in the netmiko script

train7654
Level 1
Level 1

Hi i am new to python and currently learning the basic of netmiko . I built 3 scripts as below;

device_1.py  : contain device list , i do not input username/pw in the script for security purpose

my_tool.py    : prompt username/PW

config.py  : main body

I attached a txt file containing all the scripts.

-----------

Question:

If i entered the pw correctly the script, goes without any problem. But if i try to enter the pw incorrectly, the output does not go

to loop  (Password do not match. Try again.) , instead it go to output like below:

root@NetworkAutomation-1:~# python3 netmiko1.py
Enter Username: admin
Enter Password
##################################################
failed to connect to 10.10.10.101
##################################################

i think the problem lies in , my_tool.py script at [ if password != password: ] . How can i change this to make the pw loop appear.

Thank you in advance 

5 Replies 5

Looks like you’re problem in the my_tool.pyscript is that the password variable is not being compared to itself, but rather to a new string 'password'that is being created inside the ifstatement. This means that the if password != password condition will always be true, and the script will not prompt the you/the user for a new password if they enter the incorrect password.

If you modify the get_credentials_1 function in the my_tool.py script to compare the password variable to a new, separate string that is not being used as a variable.

Hope this helps.

Please mark this as helpful or solution accepted to help others
Connect with me https://bigevilbeard.github.io

Thank you for the reply.