cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA Backup and Restore

caug
Level 1
Level 1

I know there are plenty of threads around this topic but I am new to Cisco so please hang with me.

I have two ASA 5545 in the same remote datacenter location.  I do not have physical access to either.  I need to use remote hands if I need to do anything like move cables etc.  The older ASA is running 8.6 while the newer one is running 9.2.  The old ASA is in production while the new ASA is to replace it.  

Is it as simple as taking a backup with either ASDM or cli using "more system:running-config" and restoring to the new ASA?  Is one method better than the other?  Will my site-to-site VPNs reconnect once the cables are moved over (read: will everything get restored e.g. keys, certs, passwords, etc.)?  Will I need to manualy edit anything in the backup before I restore it, like the image file, since it is a different firmware version?

Sorry for the seemingly simple questions but I am new to Cisco and I've never done this before.  Thanks.

2 Replies 2

Pawan Raut
Level 4
Level 4

I belive you should have console access atleast to configure new Pair of ASA.

I assume you have pair of ASA in active/standby mode and you will keep same IP address for new ASA as old one have.

So in my view you should  follow below steps

1) Power on new ASA pair.

2) Connect two ASA by cross connect cable for HA pair

3) take console of new ASA pair

4) Configure those ASA pair in active/standby.

5) Take back configuration from old ASA "more system:running-config" (This will include unencrypted VPN pre-share key)

6) IOS version 8.6 and 9.2 dont have  Major differances but please take look at Guidelines and Migration for 9.0, 9.1 and 9.2 (https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asa/migration/upgrade/upgrade.html)

7)Make sure your new ASA Pair have same interface as old one incase you have any change in interface then adjust it accordingly in the config backup taken from old ASA.