Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Best methods to extend Cisco Catalyst 2960S Access Ports

Hello,

I have been helping off and on a remote office with their network environment and a couple years ago I put in a Cisco Catalyst 2960S 48 port switch using one data vlan and one voice creating a basic LAN design.

It turns out over the past few months they hired a lot of new people/all ports are used up and just told me they ordered a new Cisco Catalyst 2960X switch which just arrived and I am kind of scrambling to figure out the best way to extend the available ports.

According to this link cisco-2960 the 2960S and 2960X should be stackable however I am a little bit worried I do not have the required LAN Base image.

My questions are:

1.  Is it pretty easy to configure stacking?  "I have never done so before"

2.  Are there any ideal and quick alternatives... especially if I have to wait for additional components to arrive?

Thanks in advance,

Joe

8 Replies 8

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

In general stacking multiple switches is not hard.  In your scenario, it may take a little more time to put them together if you don't have the correct license and since you are mixing 2960s with 2960x.

In the meantime, it maybe it is simpler and faster if you just connect the new switch to the old switch using one cable and than just add the same vlans to the link between the switches as well as to the user port on the new switch. Basically, you extend the same vlan from the 2960s to the new 2960x.

HTH

Both switches come with multiple fiber uplink ports.  You can use one of them and connect the switches together. If the switches are in close proximity, and if you don't have the fiber cable and the optics, you can use a copper port until you purchase the fibber cable and the optics.

HTH

Hey Reza,