cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't get Vlan to accept DHCP address

HunterHage
Level 1
Level 1

In order for the answer below to work, in this setup I had to stop using the Gigabit port entirely and just use FastEthernet0/1 as the connection to the ATT.

~~~

Hello, I will be honest that I am very new to this. Luckily I am trying to do something simple.

I have two devices that are unique here an ATT Pace 5268AC Modem Router that is responsible for Internet Access and DHCP, then a Cisco Catalyst 3560 that will be responsible for routing our home devices through one port that I can mirror and monitor.

I have a Vlan 50 setup to connect FastEthernet0/1 - 0/12 and Gigabit0/1 together and Vlan 50 is set to acquire its' IP address from the ATT router's DHCP service. I cannot set the Vlan's IP manually because the ATT router cannot find anything that does not connect with DHCP. With this setup normally I can get an IP from ATT for the Vlan50 and all works good thereafter; however the ATT router does misbehave and it has to be restarted. When it does get restarted the switch can no longer connect to the ATT router. Or when I restart the 3560 it does not seek a new DHCP assignment. This causes problems cause I need to perform some sort of ritual that can take anywhere from 10 minutes to three hours to get the 3560 to get a new DHCP assignment from the ATT router.

Ultimately I need to know how to improve this setup to have better reliability in retrieving an IP from DHCP for Vlan50. Or if there is a better method of accomplishing this.

Here is the configuration for the 3560, I am connected to it via console and telnet.

Building configuration...

Current configuration : 1872 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname CS0
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
enable secret 5 
enable password 
!
no aaa new-model
system mtu routing 1500
ip subnet-zero
!
!