Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot set flash:"ios version" as directory - Catalyst 2960-S

dtipps
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. First post!

I am very new at networking and my supervisor does not know the answer to my dilemma.

The situation. I have a 2960-S. I upgraded its IOS from 12.2 to 15.0. (specifically "c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin")

I did this upgrade by downloading ios from cisco, installing TFTP server, connecting switch to TFTP server and applying the upgrade. I deleted the old 12.2 ios (I realize now I should have "archived" it. I think that's a thing) 

I get this error when the switch boots: 

"Loading "c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin"...c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin: no such device

Error loading "c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin"

Interrupt within 5 seconds to abort boot process."

The switch will boot just fine afterwards, but I hate errors. I would like to make this error go away. (I find this as an opportunity to learn and grow)

Why would it say there's no such device... but then boot to it anyway? I don't understand.

Under "dir flash:" I get this:

2 -rwx 14567808 Mar 1 1993 00:03:30 +00:00 c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin
3 -rwx         4996 Jul 17 2017 21:39:49 +00:00 vlan.dat
4 -rwx         3029 Jan 2 2006 00:08:28 +00:00 config.text
5 -rwx         1915 Jan 2 2006 00:08:28 +00:00 private-config.text
6 -rwx         4120 Jan 2 2006 00:08:28 +00:00 multiple-fs

I noticed (before I deleted it) that the old 12.2 ios had a "drwx" instead of just an rwx. I'm assuming this is my problem.

Anyway, I tried the "cd" command but I get a "file is not a directory" error. I have not been able to find anything else to be helpful.

Switch#cd c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin
%flash:/c2960s-universalk9-mz.150-2a.SE9.bin is not a directory

I do not know exactly what I am doing, as I am new at this (the guy who knew everything up and left) so I'm learning trial by fire. Please be patient with me.