Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 2690-X 48 Ports Stack Configuration

Azuriste
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts,

I'm New with Cisco Catalyst Switch, we were shifted from Avaya Stack Switches to Cisco Catalyst Stacks .

My First question : Is Catalyst 2690-X do intervalan Configuration ?i have learned that there are some L3 Features Limitations !what they are  so?

Regards,

7 Replies 7

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I believe you mean to say Catalyst 2960 ?

The cisco 2960 series is considered to have layer 2+ functionality, as it demonstrates some routing abilities without being robust enough to handle the same as a 3560  / 3750 / 3850

The cisco 2960-X does have limited layer 3 routing capability. Simply, it only supports a limited number of static or default routes.

The 2960-XR uses something called IP-Lite and supports dynamic routing (RIP and partial OSPF), but is still very limited in its layer 3 functionality. 

BB

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

The 2960-X series switches are mainly layer-2 with limited layer-3 functionalities based on the license you have. What is your license and what are you trying to do with this switch?

HTH

I dont have any idea a bout License .How coud i get this information ?

I plan to do Stack switch of 2690 ( 4 switches ) , the main role of this Stack is for user and some server Vlans in Production Env (Voice/data Vlan , and some Vlans for Vmware Env ) .The routing will be done by PaloAlto(Firewall) and before to purchase theses switches i want to know if they support POE,IP Helper...)

Regards

thanks ,So the License is WS-C2960X-48LPS-L( LAN Base ) in my Case

Hi,
Should I Configure the first switch as a Master then i connect the switches 1 by 1 by FlexStack Cables OR cabling the switches by the Flexstack cables and then start the Configueration?
Regards