cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CBS350, vlan2 cannot access internet but can access other vlan

iewhf02i
Level 1
Level 1

I am totally new to cisco and networking in general. I am using a CBS350-16T-2G. I got it because my ISP's ONR HG8240T5 is horrible, it only lets me assign 16 ip addresses using mac addresses and does not let me create subnets/vlans. It also does not allow me to go into bridge mode so I can't use a router. I figure the CBS350 as a dhcp server and creating vlans would be perfect.

My network is designed like this.

• ISP Router is plugged into port 16, vlan1.
  • I created vlan2, and assigned it to port 2. The rest of the ports are vlan1 for now.
  • I created an address pool 192.168.2.1-192.168.2.253 and an ipv4 interface at 192.168.2.254.
  • I added a static route destination 0.0.0.0 -> next hop at 192.168.1.254 where my ONR router is.
  • I created a static host which assigns the ip address 192.168.2.108 to my device based on its mac address.

PROBLEM

When the devices are on vlan1, I can do everything fine, I can connect to the internet and communicate with other devices on the vlan1 using ssh.

When I put my laptop on vlan2 and assigned it 192.168.2.108, my device from vlan1 with the address 192.168.1.99 can access it and vice versa. However, my device on vlan2 is not able to access the internet. How can I make sure that all my devices on all the vlans are able to access the internet?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If I am understanding the discussion correctly vlan 1 and vlan 2 were able to communicate but the issue was that vlan 2 did not have Internet access. This would be because the ISP is doing Network Address Translation for vlan 1 but not for vlan 2. I am guessing that you are not able to get the ISP to do NAT for vlan 2. For you to be able to do your own NAT you need a router and I believe that your c921 should be able to do the NAT.

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Hello,