cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1841 for Static NAT

rcamburn
Level 1
Level 1

Hello! I need guidance in establishing a Static NAT on an 1841 router.

I'm at a FOX affiliate TV station, and in order to connect our EAS Device to the internet & Fox Splicer, I need

to setup a Statio NAT, so we picked up an 1841 on eBay.

I've done a little configuration in HyperTerminal.

I've done these ip addresses:

FE0/0 10.1.10.13        this is the subnet our EAS device is on

FE0/1 10.110.81.174   this is the subnet of the Fox Splicer.

I need to have NAT translate 10.1.10.11 to 10.110.81.170 and I also need to set a route

for 10.110.81.0/24 pointing to 10.110.81.161

I'm a Television Engineer, not a Network Engineer, but I'm not afraid to push buttons & break things!

Thanks in advance & have a great day!

Rick

12 Replies 12

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

Usually, you use NAT to go from private IPs to public and vice versa.  In your case, these IPs are all private and there is no need for NAT here. So, you need to find out the public (Internet) address you need to translate your private IPs to.

HTH

Thanks for the reply,

I need to translate 10.1.10.11(IP address of EAS device) to 10.110.81.170(address the Fox Splicer is expecting

the EAS device to be)

Thanks again!

Rick

Hi Rick,

So the Fox Splicer is expecting the EAS device to be at 10.110.81.170. Does the EAS device know that the Fox device is at 10.110.81.X, or does it likewise believe that the Fox device is on its subnet of 10.1.10.0/24?

If the EAS device knows the real IP of the Fox device and just needs to show up in the 10.110.81.170 network when it talks to the Fox device, it should be as simple as:

int fa0/0

ip nat inside

!

int fa0/1

ip nat outside

!

ip nat inside source static 10.1.10.11 10.110.81.170

If your router has an interface in the 10.110.81.0/24 network, it doesn't need an explicit route to it, as it will see that entire network as connected.