cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco packet tracer help

hiroyu
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to PT and taking the online intro course.

In the sector Video - Deploying Devices Example they connected home router to a webcam. 

I tried connecting mine on my PT but it keep getting connection error: The cable cannot be connected to this port

Please help 

see attached

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Martin L
VIP
VIP

it is because WebCam is wireless one by default;  Click on Webcam, click on Advanced button in right-lower corner. This should add I/O Config tab to menu on top between Specs and Physical tabs. Go to I/O and add Network Ethernet adapter.

Also, you can Find and Use motion_detector.pkt sample file in your install folder; Also check PT samples files in \Cisco Packet Tracer 8.1.0\saves\04 IoT\Solution Examples

Regards, ML
**Please Rate All Helpful Responses **

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Martin L
VIP
VIP

it is because WebCam is wireless one by default;  Click on Webcam, click on Advanced button in right-lower corner. This should add I/O Config tab to menu on top between Specs and Physical tabs. Go to I/O and add Network Ethernet adapter.

Also, you can Find and Use motion_detector.pkt sample file in your install folder; Also check PT samples files in \Cisco Packet Tracer 8.1.0\saves\04 IoT\Solution Examples

Regards, ML

Hi. i am trying cisco now and also have this error. I cannot see the add Network Ethernet Adapter. I added a screenshot. Hope for you assistance. Thanks

is this regular PT lab? yours ?  if this is PT activity lab (lab made by instructor), some things and tabs are limited/disabled so that he/she can grade your lab.  such file is password protected.

you can always attach PT file here but must be zip it first. 

Regards, ML

oh that is why. yes i just started and following the tutorial. ok will just continue the course for now.

thanks for the quick reply!