cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

cisco packet tracer simulation error

fatimaa
Level 1
Level 1

I have an error when I try to use the simulation, any ideas on how to fix it.

ps. I'm new to using this program.

15 Replies 15

Hi @fatimaa 

I opened the file in simulator mode here just fine. Which error do you get?

FlavioMiranda_0-1691698034081.png

Does the X on the PCs means that there is something wrong? and how can I fix it?

This information with X is probably packet that is arriving to the PC and the PC is rejecting it. Probably Spanning Tree BPDU from the switch

Configure the interfaces as spanning-tree portfast

We tried configuring the interfaces as spanning-tree portfast, but still it's not working. 

Share you PacketTracer project here and let me see. 

You need to zip the file before attach.

Look this file. I enable spanning-tree port-fast in all interfaces and  I dont see any pink envelops anymode.

Thank you for your response.

I opened the file that you attached and I still get the same problem the packets are not arriving at the PCs and I get an x on all envelopes.

If you go to the router and you try to ping the PCs, do you suceed? If you do, you dont need to worry about the envelops. The envelops only tells you that one packet arrived on the PC and it ignores it.

No, I don't succeed, the thing is per my project's requirements I need to create scenarios where I move packets all around the network.

First, make sure the PC is using DHCP:

FlavioMiranda_0-1691838744784.png

Then, go to the router and ping the PC

FlavioMiranda_1-1691838796621.png

If you see !!!!, this means the ping is fine.

I tested here and ping between PCs, even in different networks(colors) is working fine. I did not change anything on the config.

FlavioMiranda_2-1691838968803.png

Okay, it works now.

Thank you so much @Flavio Miranda, I really appreciate your help.

I'm also facing some problems with doing these 2 steps, so could you please guide me on how to perform them.