cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

COM connection, cant access prompt but am getting monitor feedback

Will M
Level 1
Level 1

I'm still learning and have a small lab at work to play with consisting of 2x 3750 48 ports and a 3750 with 24ports.

I know the com connection did work as thats how I initially set it up about 4 months ago, but I haven't used it much in the last 3 months and when I did I accessed via IP/ethernet.

So the ethernet connections are still fine however when I connect via com port its not allowing me to interact with it anymore.

I tried Putty and SecureCRT and behavior is the same. I get a blank screen with blinking cursor. I hit enter, ctrl-shift-6, nothing.

If I unplug or connect a wire I will get the monitor feedback of the line going up and down, so I am connected.

I get the same behavior across all 3 switches, and rebooted the first one, etc.

This leads me to believe its my local machine somehow. Any ideas where I should go to look?

I know if I try and open Putty when already connected via SecureCRT I get an error that the com ports in use. So i dont think it's another app having it in use, as I dont know any other programs I have installed that would utilize the com port.

9 Replies 9

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

hi on your pc go to my computer -  manage- device manager- and ports section , when you connect your cable it  to will show up there as certain com port , make sure on putty is set to that com port , they can change , its unlikely all your devices as you said

Im on a desktop with a built in COM port, so device manager is showing Communications Port (COM1)

There is an Intelk Active Management SOL (COM3)

And 2 RIM Virtual COM4 and 5 I'm guessing from Blackberry software.

I tried a session with Com3 and I'm not even getting to link up/down messages.

I've also tried 2 different cables rj45-db9