Views
Helpful
Replies

Complete beginner at packet tracer trying to make a small network

nor
Level 1
Level 1

1.pngScreenshot 2021-10-27 212934.png

I am currently trying to set up the gigabit ports. I need to have atleast 40 end devices. But these 2 ip addresses i entered for the gigabit ports are overlapping

% 192.168.1.0 overlaps with GigabitEthernet0/0

Can anyone explain why this is how to fox it?

13 Replies 13

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

That is the correct behavior. You can not assign 2 IPs in the same segment/network to 2 different interfaces. 

You need a segment/network subnet for each interface:

example:

gi0/0 192.168.1.1/26

g0/1 192.168.2.1/26

or

gi0/0 192.168.1.1/26

g0/1 192.168.1.65/26

a /26 gives you 62 useable IPs. So, the first segment (192.168.1.1/26) covers 1-62 and the second segment (192.168.1.65/26) covers from 65-126

HTH

Understandable. I used 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.2.1.

To set up the dhcp server, I have to assign an ip to it first right? So which network subnet should I use from the two? 

edit: oh. i am able to assign ip for the different interfaces on it too. Do i have to do that?

Follow the steps below to set up DHCP.

You can use any of the subnets.

https://www.manageengine.com/network-configuration-manager/configlets/configure-dhcp-server-cisco.html

HTH

Hello,

post the zipped Packet Tracer project (.pkt) file...

Sorry for the late response. Have been doing other assignments.

I was able to make the server assign the ip addresses to the end devices. But my instructor says I'm not supposed to connect the server to the two switches. So, I will check with him in the next class. In the mean time, what is your opinion on this setup and how can I improve it.

File attached. Note that I havent enabled dhcp on all end devices. And also, every time i exit packet tracer and reopen it, the ipaddress allocated is different. "DHCP failed, apipa is being used". Dont know what it means

Hello,