Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuration a Promiscuous trunk Port on Catalyst 3560 Switches

J_H
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Excuse me for bothering you, I'm an engineering student ,I'm in an intern-ship and I'm working on the implementation of a private VLAN, I have created two vlans on a cisco catalyst 3560 switch : one vlan for the switch management and the second is a private vlan which is devided into two community vlans, I need to pass the traffic of this two vlans on a port that is connected to a C3KX-NM-1G switch , How can I configure this port as a Promiscuous PVLAN trunk port ?I have searched a lot in your Cisco site but I didn't find how to configure a Catalyst 3560 port us a trunk and a promiscuous port at the same time , I hope you can help me about this, Looking forward to your reply.

Thank very much,

8 Replies 8

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

Here is an example config:

link:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst4500/12-2/31sga/configuration/guide/config/pvlans.html

Switch# configure terminal 

Switch(config)# interface fastethernet 5/2 

Switch(config-if)# switchport mode private-vlan promiscuous 

Switch(config-if)# switchport private-vlan mapping 200 2

Switch(config-if)# end 

HTH

Hi friend,

Thank you for your answer , I really appreciate it but I need to configure the same port as a promiscuous and trunk port the configuration that is available in this site is for the catalyst 4500 switches and not for 3560 switches, I have tried the following commandes but they didn't work on that specific switch :

# interface Gi0/1

#switchport mode private-vlan trunk promiscuous  ( at that level I have an error and i can't execute the rest of the commands)

#switchport private-vlan association trunk 10 20,30

#switchport private-vlan  trunk allowed vlan 10 40  (10 is the primary Vlan and 40 is the management vlan)

#switchport private-vlan trunk vlan 40

#end