Views
Helpful
Replies

Connectivity from Core to Firewall

errrrnv85
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

Apologies if it has been discussed before but i didnt seem to be able to find the answer.

I am new to Enterprise networking or i should say routing and switching but i am in a situation where i have been asked to help whilst our network engineer is away.

I am trying to route a Test Vlan from Access Switch to Firewall and then internet.

Access Switch----------------------->Core Switch--------------------------------------> Firewall---------------->Internet

I have configured the VLAN on Access Layer and an SVI for the same VLAN on Core which seems to be fine. I am strugling to establish L3 connectivity between Core and Firewall (Palo Alto)

We already have a default route on our core and that points to the ASA firewal and then its routed back to the Core switch (Depending on the prefix) of course and then specific routes to the ISA proxy. Our Network engineer seems to be against default routes on the core switches.

Now the challenge i am facing is how do i route then VLAN from Core to Firewall??? There is of course a Layer 3 SVI for the Vlan and a Gig interface (Which Connects to Palo Alto firewall). Now of course there cant be two Layer 3 interfaces with the same IP range. If i create Gi as Layer 3 then how do i tag the VLAN traffic to Layer 3 interface? If i keep the Gig interface as L2 then of course it wont be routed to firewall.

Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Firstly gi1/1 on the core is not tagged because it is an access port.

If you are just trying this for vlan 2026 then the firewall port should be L3 with an IP assigned.

If gi1/1 was a trunk link then the firewall would need to use subinterfaces, one for each vlan.

When you say communication won't work because on the core it is L2 and on the firewall L3 that is not right because that setup is exactly what you want.