Helpful
Replies

DHCP Snooping Configuration to Restrict DHCP Rogue Server

qaiser31639389
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to Cisco community.

I would like to implement DHCP snooping in our company's network to restrict rogue DHCP server, before implementation I would like to have your valuable thoughts and suggestions on below provided infrastructure details.

I've also attached example network/topology diagram for the better understanding of provided details.

My question is what will be the impact on the network, remote access VPN tele-workers and site to site VPN's connectivity, also could someone please suggest any configuration as well (thanks in advance to all participant).

Current Network Infrastructure Highlights

1. Cisco ASA 5525 (pair/set) configured at network perimeter acting as gateway active/standby.

2. Cisco 3850 switches X 2 stacked and working as distribution layer switches and also holding role of root bridge for other switches.

3. Cisco 2960 switches X 8 at access layer so workstations and firewalls for other departments connected (e.g. ABC & XYZ department firewalls we have at least 12 other firewalls connected with 12 different subnets).

4. Public IP’s NAT for ABC & XYZ networks for site to site VPN’s and remote access VPN’s (pool of IP’s defined on both firewalls for tele-workers).

5. All switchports are part of same VLAN.

6. The outside interfaces of both firewalls are connected in same subnet of LAN that has static IP range for firewalls and other routing devices subnet IP address range (10.40.5.0 /16).

7. The DNS, DHCP and other servers are also connected to same LAN and serving DHCP lease to
workstations and wi-fi users (10.40.1.1 -10.40.4.252).

8. Behind ABC & XYZ firewalls DHCP pools defined for local devices.

9. Needs to enable DHCP snooping so restrict presence of rogue DHCP.

10. Where to configure what on switches and also what will be the impact of DHCP