Views
Helpful
Replies

DSCP 4 ?

atef yamin
Level 1
Level 1

hi

I am studying for cisco exam and am confused when it comes to this value. I have extensively read about the DSCP values and from my understanding a DSCP value of 4 means 000 100 (ECN). how can this value be even valid ? it doesnt have a class selector value and only drop precedence. following is a copy of config in cisco docs for Catalyst 3750:

Switch(config)# ip access-list 101 permit ip any any

Switch(config)# ipv6 access-list ipv6-any permit ip any any

Switch(config)# class-map cm-1

Switch(config-cmap)# match access-group 101

Switch(config-cmap)# exit

Switch(config)# class-map cm-2

Switch(config-cmap)# match access-group name ipv6-any

Switch(config-cmap)# exit

Switch(config)# policy-map pm1

Switch(config-pmap)# class cm-1

Switch(config-pmap-c)# set dscp 4

Switch(config-pmap-c)# exit

Switch(config-pmap)# class cm-2

Switch(config-pmap-c)# set dscp 6

Switch(config-pmap)# class class-default

Switch(config-pmap-c)# set dscp 10

Switch(config-pmap)# exit

Switch(config)# interface G0/1

Switch(config-if)# switch mode access

Switch(config-if)# service-policy input pm1

Can someone please elaborate on this please?

2 Replies 2

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,

I have extensively read about the DSCP values and from my understanding  a DSCP value of 4 means 000 100 (ECN). how can this value be even valid  ? it doesnt have a class selector value and only drop precedence.

This should not mean ECN, as the ECN flags are outside the 6-bit DCSP field. However, I am also somewhat puzzled by the DSCP values used in your example.