Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP neighbor command not sticking

I am finding trouble getting static neighbor commands for EIGRP to work when I am studying in GNS3.

My understanding is that all I need to do is type neighbor 192.168.1.1 ser0/0 in router configuration mode and as long as:

1) Serial0/0 is part of the 192.168.1.0 subnet

and

2) The same thing is configured on the other end (since this command kills all eigrp multicasts on that interface)

the neighborship should come up.

However I find that when I type this command, despite the CLI not giving up an error message, the command does not stick ... i.e. when I do a show run the command is not there. Of course the neighborship does not come up.

What are the exact criteria for using this command?

Thanks in advance

5 Replies 5

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Steven,

It seems like you haven't configured the network statement. Before you can use a neighbor reachable through a particular interface, this interface must be added to EIGRP using the ordinary network statement. In other words, you can not define neighbors that are reachable through interfaces not added to EIGRP.

In your example, assuming that the S0/0 is configured in 192.168.1.0/24 network, you should first add network 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255 command and only then you should define a static neighbor in this network.

Best regards,

Peter

Hi Peter,

The following is a quote directly from the CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Official Certification Guide on page 44:

"Configuring Static EIGRP Neighbors