Views
Helpful
Replies

EtherChannel / Port Groups / Switch trunk/LAG | 2960S

Mark^
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

We recently upgraded to a some 48 port 2960S Catalysts and I have setup EtherChannel between the two of them.  I'm no expert here, so I just want to get some feedback on how I configured it.  I'm not having any noticable issues with the config, but I'd like to know I did it right (or wrong) and the way it "should" be.

I grouped two ports, and here are the snippets from my config:

interface Port-channel5

description Switch Trunk LAG

switchport mode trunk

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/47

description Switch LAG

switchport mode trunk

channel-protocol lacp

channel-group 5 mode active

!

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/48

description Switch LAG

switchport mode trunk

channel-protocol lacp

channel-group 5 mode active

I just read something that made me wonder if the post should be mode access instead of mode trunk, which is what prompted me to post here to the experts.

Thanks!

Mark
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it.

You can create it as a trunk, access port, or a L3 port, whatever floats your boat.

I would also look at port-channel load-balancing' This is based on a hash of the following.

src-mac

dst-mac

src-dst-mac

src-dst-ip

etc etc. Just know what kinda  traffic is going through.

You can configure load balancing by 'port-channel load-balance ?'

Also, run the command 'show etherchannel summary'

It should be in a SU state.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it.

You can create it as a trunk, access port, or a L3 port, whatever floats your boat.

I would also look at port-channel load-balancing' This is based on a hash of the following.

src-mac

dst-mac

src-dst-mac

src-dst-ip

etc etc. Just know what kinda  traffic is going through.