Views
Helpful
Replies

Fully redundant Data center design

paulmon07
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I'd like to know please if someone can check this drawing and point out what might be wrong with it... im assuming theres more than 1 thing wrong of course here as i'm only starting out learning networking , but would like to learn where i've gone wrong

Here are the key points for the exercise

1. A pair of 6506E switches for resiliency in the DC will act as the core and aggregation layers with LBs included providing a throughput of 8Gbps which can be increased to 16Gbps

2. 6 x 4948 switches to be utilized in a “Top of Rack” design feeding back to the aggregation layer. Servers are required to have 1 port connectivity only so port count density for dual homing as not been accounted for

3. A Cisco terminal server will connect via PSTN line to allow remote support

4. The DC will be connected to the customer MPLS network via redundent solution using E3 links for POP diversity and WAN FWs

5. internet access will be ensured via a global managed internet services 1G connection using Cisco 2800

Any feedback is most welcome so thank you in advance

Regards,

Paul

7 Replies 7

Gregory Snipes
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Paul,

If you could generally clarifiy how this is configured, particularly where your layer 2/3 boundries will be, that whould be helpful in analysing this. Here are a few things jump out at me.

1. What is the propose of the cluster of three 4948s between the 6500s and the edge routers?

2. Why do you have firewalls on your WAN connection and not your Internet connection?

3. Is this network all in one location (room)? If so you should probably get a small switch (could be a cheap dumb switch) and spin up and OOB management network to hook you terminal server and an OOB connection from each device to.

I hit the add reply button and more details magically appear, well played sir.