cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Generating network configurations for a large network roll-out.

stevemakay
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm working on greenfield DMVPN (200+ sites) network, and I'm looking for something to help generate the configurations for the site routers and switches. Something that can use build configs from templates/spreadsheets and update ip addressing, hostname etc per site would be great.

I'm also looking to create the configs for IP SLA.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Steve

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Harvey khatri
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Steve

I have been using GEN IT for about 4 years now and i recommend it 100%.  We used it for a large network rollout a few years ago, over 800 sites and it was excellent and we still use all the time.  The tool is also regularly updated by the developer and the functionality has improved with each update.  We have also requested features in the past which have been included in the software.  Well worth the money and the only tool we could find that did the job.

Harvey  

View solution in original post

Hi Steve,

We've been utilising GEN.IT from the initial rollout of our 700+ DMVPN sites through to today, for deploying new sites and rebuilding existing sites. Once you put the work into developing the spreadsheet templates and utilising the functions for IP calculations, GEN.IT becomes a very reliable tool to generate individual or bulk site configs with a confidence and ease.

Good Luck.

Alistair

View solution in original post

14 Replies 14

Andras Dosztal
Level 3
Level 3

I usually put the data into a CSV file, and write a script (Python, Perl, PowerShell, shell script, etc.) to generate the configs. Create a template, then the script loops through the CSV file, puts the values into variables, then replaces some content with the variables' values.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support Android App

Thanks Andras,