cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help! Can't get DHCP to assign ip addresses to 3 VLANs

ShaneJ
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm relatively new to networking, I'm having trouble with the server configuring DHCP ip addresses for computers in three VLANS:10,20 and 30. I've configured the VLANs on one switch and configured the router's ip address as well as the ip address,subnet mask and gateway for the server which is the same for the router's fa0/0 ip address. However,I've not configured trunking as yet as I'm unsure if to configure an ip address for the switch. I've attached my network below, any feedback would be greatly appreciated 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

gs.skills
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I can only guess from your picture that you are using a ROAS (Router On A stick) and a switch set for layer 2 only, in this situation:

• you definitively need a trunk link between the router and the switch
  • a subinterface on the router for each VLAN (10,20,30 and server VLAN) with an ip address that belong to each VLAN subnet
  • if the router is the dhcp server:
    • configure a dhcp pool on the router for each subnet
    • IP addresses used on router subinterfaces are excluded from the pool
  • if the server is the dhcp server:
    • configure a dhcp pool on the server for each subnet
    • add an ip helper-address option on each router subinterfaces for VLANs 10,20 and 30 indication the IP address of the dhcp server*

(Also, you need a different subnet for each VLAN)

*when i tried this configuration, it required more configuration to make the dhcp server send dhcp leases for subnets from which he has no IP addresses.

Regards, Guillaume

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Hello,

post the Packet Tracer project file (save as .pkt and rename it to .jpg, otherwise the system does not let you upload)...

gs.skills
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,