cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

help! I want to utilize my Cisco Air 1142N, however, I can't connect it to my switch and router.

David H Lee
Level 1
Level 1

hello all! I am currently running my network Cisco Router 2811 and catalyst 3560 switch at home, and recently added Cisco AP 1142N to use it practice wireless lap. I've connected all the cables as I should and tried to control the AP from either router or switch by providing DHCP server. However, AP won't find WLC at all, and constantly renewing DHCP address, and sometimes, it reboots itself. I've seen few posts on here, but I haven't come across that explains exactly how to configure it through CLI. I'm still a newbie, so any little help will be much appreciated. IF you need more info, please let me know, I'll try to provide it to you as much as I can. thank you! 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

This is a lightweight access point.  It wont work without a WLC.  Have you got a WLC?

View solution in original post

Hi

It looks like your device is working as lightweight AP.

The Aironet can works like lightweight or autonomous. The first option is when the AP is handled by a Wireless Lan Controller (WLC), in few words the AP does not have any important configuration, everything is implemented from the WLC, usually the IOS for Lightweight AP includes the work k9w8 on the file name. 

The Autonomous AP is when you configure it directly, not through a WLC. Usually this IOS includes k9w7 on the file name. 

If you are going to practice using the  AP with a WLC, you need to convert the AP from lightweight to autonomous. 

This link could be useful:

https://mrncciew.com/2012/10/20/lightweight-to-autonomous-conversion/

Please dont forget to rate the comment if it is useful

:-)