Views
Helpful
Replies

How do I separate LAN and WLAN?

kweightman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

Im totally new to networking but have been asked to sort our IT by the boss.

We currently run a wired network that also includes 3 WAP's, with a network address of 192.168.2.x

we want to separate all wireless with an address of 192.168.3.x

How can we separate the wireless from the wired networks, while keeping internet and internal resource access for both?

we have a cisco 891 with 2 vlans on it (the default VLAN 1 and our new one VLAN10) going through a port to a 3000 series switch

the 891 handles DHCP as well, so I have a DHCP pool for 192.168.3.0/24, and a VLAN interface for VLAN10 (the wifi) both on the 891.

this is connected to the 3000 switch, which also now has a vlan created on it for wifi. There are 3 AP's connected to this switch. What modes do I need to set each of the 3 ports to? Trunk or access? tagged/untagged? should these ports only be a member of wifi vlan or both?

Please help as this is quite urgent and I know nothing!! thanks

8 Replies 8

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Kyle

So you have vlan 1 which is the wired network and vlan 3 which is the WiFi network and they are both routed on the 891 router. You do not want to restrict traffic between these vlans or to the internet, you just want them on separate vlans.

Is the above correct ?

If so the ports on the switch should be access ports which will be untagged and they should only be members of vlan 3.

Jon

Hi Jon

thanks for reply

the VLAN1 is wired, and we want VLAN10 to be wireless.

VLAN1 to be on 192.168.2.0 range, VLAN10 192.168.3.0 range

Will i need to change the WAPs IP addrss to a 192.168.3.x ?

If the switch ports are untagged, and access ports, only members of VLAN10, then all wireless devices should get DHCP addresses in 192.168.3.0 range is that right?