cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to configure a network to access systems on a different switch with a different IP Range!

ahmad.farooq1
Level 1
Level 1

Folks, 

I am new to networking world, basically I am storage admin. Any help would be appreciated!

Let me first give an overview of my network here:

=> My company network which we connect to 10.X.X.X is the main network and we also VPN into that network. 

=> I built a separate environment with storage systems, servers, and a CISCO switch. I had help from a fellow who helped me configure the Cisco switch but now I am on my own. He set the IP range of 192.168.0.XX.

I wanted to segment this environment from the main network because this new environment is for testing purposes only.  So basically I ran cables from the (main management switch to the CISCO switch, management ports of the servers, and storage systems. 

Now here is what I am struggling with:

I can only access and connect to the systems VIA VPN/main network to the systems management device called Service process or RLM(Remote Lan Management) and then I can get into the systems through that device. But I can't access these systems directly. 

I would really appreciate if I can get a solution so that I can configure the network. 

Recap/Brief Summary: 

2 different switches | 2 different networks with 2 different IP range (192.168.0.XX) & (10.X.X.X) 

I am trying to configure the network so that I can access the systems remotely through the main network/VPN.

Thanks

Warm Regards

2 Replies 2

Hello Ahmad,

what device is your remote/VPN access configured on ? That is, how do you connect to your network externally ? Could you post a simple schematic drawing of your physical setup showing how devices are connected ?

Hello

It may just a matter of advertising this 192.x.x network by allowing it through an access-list etc or you may need to hide it via a NAT setup