cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to setup VLANs for new security cameras on existing Catalyst 3560s and 3845 Router

erikahess
Level 1
Level 1

Forgive me as I am not an expert.  I have 3 Catalyst 3560s (a MB, GB, and X) and a 3845 router.   I have 6 new security cameras (IP) that will be added to the network next week.  I do not have any separate VLANs setup right now and know I should get another VLAN setup for the cameras.  I know the Catalyst 3560s are layer 3 devices, but I also have a router.  What is the best way to setup the routing?  On the router or the switches?  I don't have the router connected directly to each switch right now nor do I have the switch ports avaiblale on the router to directly connect each switch to it.  I have a 3560x in building b, a 3560G and the 3560MB building a.  Building b and building a are connected by fiber through a HP Procurve swtich at building b and the 3560G in building a.  The HP Procurve is connected to the 3560X in building b with fiber.   

The 6 cameras will be connected to the 3560 MB switch.

I have another security camera connected to the 3560X switch in building b.

The NVR server is on the 3560X switch in building b.

How do I setup the VLAN to add my security cameras? 

36 Replies 36

no, you don't need to.  The default gateway for all your subnets is the router.  So the router routes vetween the subnets for you.  You just have to make sure you have the correct default gateway configured on your end devices.

on the HP, do i just need to create the trunk to the GB switch, similar to the way I created the VLAN on the interface of the GB switch that was the trunk to the MB switch?  

yes, you need to trunk the HP since you have multiple vlans configured