cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to setup VLANs for new security cameras on existing Catalyst 3560s and 3845 Router

erikahess
Level 1
Level 1

Forgive me as I am not an expert.  I have 3 Catalyst 3560s (a MB, GB, and X) and a 3845 router.   I have 6 new security cameras (IP) that will be added to the network next week.  I do not have any separate VLANs setup right now and know I should get another VLAN setup for the cameras.  I know the Catalyst 3560s are layer 3 devices, but I also have a router.  What is the best way to setup the routing?  On the router or the switches?  I don't have the router connected directly to each switch right now nor do I have the switch ports avaiblale on the router to directly connect each switch to it.  I have a 3560x in building b, a 3560G and the 3560MB building a.  Building b and building a are connected by fiber through a HP Procurve swtich at building b and the 3560G in building a.  The HP Procurve is connected to the 3560X in building b with fiber.   

The 6 cameras will be connected to the 3560 MB switch.

I have another security camera connected to the 3560X switch in building b.

The NVR server is on the 3560X switch in building b.

How do I setup the VLAN to add my security cameras? 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

I've attached a txt document based on your config.

View solution in original post

But what about your vlan1??

You should configured it like you did for vlan 20.

interface GigabitEthernet0/0.1

encapsulation dot1q 1

ip address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

make sure u do a no shut under interface Gi0/0.

Have you checked the config i sent you?

Regards,

Terence

View solution in original post

36 Replies 36

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You would need to put these cameras in a different subnet/vlan, because they require you to turn on multicast.