cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

InterVlan Works but there's no internet

Hatto
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm kinda new with this, I have a Layer 3 switch, in which I have 2 vlan, Vlan 1 and Vlan 2
Vlan 1 has an IP: 192.168.1.201 255.255.255.0

Vlan 2: 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.0

each vlan has 1 PC on it

Vlan 1 has 192.168.1.90

Vlan 2 has 192.168.2.5

they have as Default gateway each vlan address, and works perfectly fine, after doing IP routing both can ping eachother and everything, BUT then I wanted to add an internet connection, since I want PC's on Vlan 1 to have internet, I put that connection in a port inside Vlan 1

Now, that connection has a default gateway 192.168.1.254, meaning that the PCs can't use the internet if they have their Vlans as default gateway, and if they do have 192.168.1.254 as default gateway, then they can't ping eachother.

what I tried is picking a port inside vlan 1 where the internet cable will go, make it no switchport, put an IP address like 192.168.3.1 255.255.255.0, and then do IP ROUTE 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.3.1

But it doesn't work because "Invalid next hop address"

I'm really stuck rn, I need the IPs of the PCs static so I don't think I will have to mess with the DHCP, maybe the solution is easy, but again, I'm kinda new with this, so any help is appreciated! 

8 Replies 8

Is it PacketTracer?  If this PK, attched the file and let us see.

Not PK, I'm working with a Catalyst 2960-L

Hello

@Hatto wrote:

BUT then I wanted to add an internet connection, since I want PC's on Vlan 1 to have internet, I put that connection in a port inside Vlan 1

Does your wan device have an ip address of 192.168.1.254?
Also your switch is performing L3 intervlan routing between vlan 1 & 2 so a default-gateway isnt applicable unless you disable ip routing
 and if you do that you will lose inter-vlan communication between the vlans.

What you do need is a default route pointing to the wan interface and ip.

example switch
conf t
ip routing