cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is DHCP Possible on 2500 Series Routers

Edgar Panduro
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone. I'm currently studying for my CCNA certification. I would like to incorporate 2500 series router to my existing network. My network has a DHCP server and DNS server. My goal is to add 2500 series router to my existing network and play around with backing up the router configuration using a TFTP server. I know the commands to perform task, but my issue is I can't put 2500 series router on same subnet as my existing network.

My plan is simple, I want 2500 series router to connect to my ISP router connected via Ethernet cable to AUI port using a 10Base-T Transceiver. Then I'll use available port eth0 on 2500 router to connect to my Cisco switch that feeds my entire network. I want to implement this plan so all devices connected to my network have Internet access, therefore using the router as a gateway to access Internet. On 2500 series router I tried making port eth0 DHCP and did not allow me to do so, then I tried making ports Serial0, and Serial1 DHCP and would not allow me. Is DHCP allowed on 2500 series routers? If so what are the commands to a port DHCP?

Is there a way to make 2500 series router a gateway to access the Internet? For example, Ideally I want ISP router to connect to 2500 router either through eth0 or Serial, then connect next available port whether its eth0 or serial0/serial1 to Cisco switch to provide Internet access to entire network.  

3 Replies 3

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame