cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Issue with Cisco 892 router and 2950 48 port switch

gkrl824@
Level 1
Level 1

Ok, I'm a bit new to Cisco and networking and actually working with another vendor on this issue. The vendor has access to the Cisco 892 router and I have access to the 2950 switch.  The issue is they make a change on the 892 which I was told is trunking Interface 0 to allow all VLAN traffic, then any device connected to the 2950 switch just loses all access to the network/Internet.  Once they revert those changes on the 892, anyone plugged into the 2950 is working and has Internet. 

The way I understand is the Cisco 892 Interface 0 then plugs into a Unifi switch. Not sure which port. Then Port 2 on the Unifi uplinks to Port 34 on the 2950.  There is a VLAN 200 on the Unifi and I've configured VLAN 200 on the 2950 but not attached to any interfaces.  I did run this command "switchport mode trunk" on interface Fa0/34.  However, once they make that Interface 0 a trunk port, anyone plugged into the 2950 loses network/Internet.  The Unifi switch still works fine. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello

gkrl824@ wrote:

Yes, correct. it's basically Router - Unifi switch -  2950
One more piece is that on the router the vendor configured Int 0 as trunk and VLAN 200.

I am assuming it is then it as I have explained above  physical interface with sub-interfaces

gkrl824@ wrote:

I have already configured vlan 200 on the 2950 but not configured any interfaces. Do I need to?

I read that by default a trunk port sends traffic to and receives traffic on all vlans.