Views
Helpful
Replies

Line con 0 meaning?

trane.m
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Sorry if i put this in the wrong board, i wasn't sure where it should be.

I'm a student at a IT education and these days we have about Cisco IOS, primarily on switches. Our teacher provided us with a cheat sheet, but without any explanation of what the commands does. I searched for and found explanations on all but one.

First question: What does "line con 0" do? as far as i understand it, line is like a connection, con is console and 0 must mean the first, so the configuration of the first console connection? If that's right, what can be configured on a console interface? If someone can give me an example, i would be very grateful. I'm also unsure about "line aux 0", but i think i'll understand that, when the other one falls into place.

Let me remind you: this is the cheat sheet provided by my teacher.
Second question: Is there any good reason why the same lines are written more than once? If anyone can explain that would be lovely.

Enable secret xxx - configures a encrypted password
Username yyy password xxx - configures a username and a password (not encrypted)
line con 0 - not sure
no privilege level - users do not have privilege levels
exec-timeout 0 0 - time until automatic disconnect (minutes and seconds)
logging synchronous - when syslog messages appear, the command is copied to a new line
line aux 0 - not sure
no privilege level
exec-timeout 0 0
logging synchronous
line vty 0 4 - number of simultaneous telnet or SSH connections. Numbers represent the range of "ports" /connections. 0-4 = 5 connections, max is 16.
no privilege level
exec-timeout 0 0
logging synchronous
login local - you need to know both the password and the username to login remotely
transport input telnet - protocols accepted for remote login. Default is all.

Third question: Is there any misunderstandings in the small notes i wrote next to some of the commands?

Thanks in advance

2 Accepted Solutions