Views
Helpful
Replies

Luis Apodaca

luis.apodaca
Level 1
Level 1

hi guys i am a rookie in CCNA and still learning

i just have one question before do a maze with my Switch Catalyst 3750, can i do more than one ip route for a same vlan, and i meant the whole network, something like this;

# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.250 /// Main Server
# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.18 //// backup server

i need to set up a gateway like a backup service, in case the main server goes down, both of them are Virtual machines but in diferents physical server, the entire network point to the main server (sophos UTM 9) this one is my gateway, and firewall

the second one (ClearOS 7) is just for have internet service, no more than that, i dont care if we dont have firewall and all those service, is only for have time for work with the main one and do some support, about 30 min and we will be fine

all is fine but the physical servers are to old and we had crashes before, so we need to have an another for the users can keep working during the crashes

thanks in advance and best regards.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Luis,

It was a pleasure 

Have a great day

:-)

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

View solution in original post

26 Replies 26

Hi Luis,

Yes you can configure 2 or more static route for backup, it is also called floating route, for example:

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.250 name Primary
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.18  20  name Secondary

You can configure highest administrative distance for backup, the default administrative for a static route is 1, so you can configure 2+ for other static routes. 

http://techintuition.com/cisco/floating-static-route

Hope it is useful

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<