Views
Helpful
Replies

Meraki Maintenance VLAN Clarification

AsheHerrick
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone!

I'm very new to networking, although I've been addicted to learning more ever since I started working in the field. I've been securing my network to the best of my ability between a combination of youtube, CCNA books, reddit, Meraki support, and the Meraki Best Practices article, but I had some questions I've been struggling to find answers to and hoped someone here would be able to clarify.

I've recently changed my maintenance VLAN from it's native setting to something else for security and I had done it due to reading it was a Cisco Best Security practice. Upon delving deeper into trying to understand why it was a best practice, I learned it was because the maintenance VLAN contains information pertaining to DTP, STP, SVI, VTP, and BPDU. Therefore, if a threat actor were to gain access to monitoring that VLAN they could gain information pertaining to critical points in your network. However, I'm learning Meraki is different from regular Cisco.

I understand DTP, but learned Meraki doesn't have it. I'm less clear on SVI, VTP, and BPDU. When reading more about these protocols, I understood SVI to be another word for a L3 switch, but what confuses me is why I've read some people telling others to disable SVI on VLAN 1. I'm assuming this isn't something you can do in Meraki? From what I understand, you need to configure each VLAN on a switch for SVI so that the switch can route across other switches that are configured with SVI in order for them to speak to each other?