Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help setting up MAC based VLANs

aseem1234
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Cisco switches, so please bear with me while I ask fairly stupid questions. Firstly, I have a Cisco SG300-10 switch that I purchased so that I can create some VLANs at home. 

The switch resides in my basement and is connected directly behind my firewall device, which in turn connects directly to my ISP connection. Because the switch is in the  basement and my house has two more floors, I have cable runs going from the switch to a wall outlet in the basement, 1st floor and second floor. 

These are normal unmanaged switches. What I am trying to avoid, but I think will fail, is buying three more Cisco switches for the other locations. Is there any possible way to create a VLAN based on MAC address without all the switches being Cisco switches?

If not that, I'm guessing it's still possible to have each port on the switch be in its own VLAN, which would basically force me to have all devices on each floor in their separate VLANs, correct? Again, this is assuming I don't buy more Cisco switches. 

If I wanted to do this second option, can someone give me some guidance. I went to VLAN Management and then VLAN Settings and create a second VLAN. Then I went to Interface Settings and picked my port, but was confused as to which VLAN mode to pick: General, Access, Trunk, Customer, Private, etc!? In my test, I tried Access mode. 

I then went to Port to VLAN and filtered on VLAN 2. Then I changed GE6, which is the port I want to edit, to Untagged. So VLAN mode was Access and Membership Type was Untagged. 

FInally, I went to Port VLAN Membership and I joined the GE6 port to VLAN 2, but I was confused as to whether I should leave 1UP in the box or not. Also, I chose Untagged.