Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New Cisco Account, Can't Download

Hi All,

Not sure which section this should be in, please re-direct as required.

I have two Catalyst 3500 XL  on which I want to test  switch to switch routing as should be available on a Level-3 switch. i.e. I want to connect two different subnets with the two switches.  e.g.  192.168.99.0 and 192.168.88.0 

I am new to Cisco equipment etc, but not to IT.

I have a direct link to the USB utility download page...

https://software.cisco.com/download/home/282979305/type/282855122/release/3.1

When I try to download I get a message to update my profile which I have done, yesterday and today.  I see all fields updated name,  post code (UK) etc.  except my local street address which no matter what I fill in and hit update I see a blank field.

I see a message about no getting full access until my address (Email done) is verified, maybe they mean street address.

I'm sure if all the USB utility does is configure my PC USB port to act like a 15 pin serial ports with the relevant baud rate, start and stop bits etc. I can do this anyway, but the inability to download still bugs me.

Any help on this appreciated.

Regards... 

3 Replies 3

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @00u17ko1c5TRmhIO15d7 ,

Cisco policies about downloads are very strict you can download software only for devices that are in a service contract that is associated to your CCO account.

And about your switches : Catalyst 3500 XL they are very old and in End of Life and End of Support and so you cannot get software for them.

I'm sorry to give you bad news.

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Reply appreciated, and I'm sure I can get USB to switch via USB to RJ-45 serial (console connection) working without an additional utility. 

The kit is old but functioning and I planned to use it at a local charity.