Views
Helpful
Replies

New network / some questions

Leijendeckers
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Regarding a network I am going to build in about a month I have a question. I fear it is actually a rather simple question but I googled for days to no avail, so I hope I can find the answer here. It regards a large (multi) home network. I have lots of experience with regular home routers / switches and the likes (but hey, that is all plug and play) but zero experience with more professional grade equipment.

The main issue is I need to make sure I am purchasing the right hardware. I will probably be tinkering with the configuration for a while, but as long as I have the correct hardware I will be fine. The network has to be operational around october 2013, so I have quite a while to get things configurated. I hope those things come with a manual .

I am starting with Comptia Network+ now, so I hope it will be some of a help with setting things up.

Situation

Two buildings will be connected in 1 LAN, the full LAN will be operating at 1Gbit/s (with cat 6 UTP cables). In the future there will probably be a third building being connected to this LAN. I believe a 1 Gbit/s network for multi home networks is more then sufficient for the coming years (and/or decade).

Building 1 (main) will have a Cisco Small Business 300 series switch as the heart of the network (300 series being level 3 so I can get rid of those slow home use routers slowing the network down to 100Mbit/s). Everything in building 1 will be connected to this switch.

Building 2 will have a switch too, which one has still to be determined. It has to support the 1Gbit/s standard and it has to have fibre connections to connect both switches (the distance is too much for a cat 6 cable and I would rather not start with cat 6a). I am hoping to go with a Small Business 200 series here.