cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 9k - L2 trunk required with vPC peer link?

Palmer Sample
Level 4
Level 4

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Nexus switching and am configuring a new deployment using 9k's for our datacenter core, connected to a pair of 6880's for the campus / aggregation.

I can post more details (rudimentary diagram, etc) if needed, but this is more of a design question:

The pair of 9k's are connected via 4x 40G uplinks.  Each 9k is also connected to the upstream Cat 6k via vPC with 4x 10G links to VSS MEC.  I've configured the 4x 40G as a port-channel and the vPC peer link, with vPC peer keepalive via the mgmt0 port (each mgmt0 port connected to a port on the Cat 6k).  Reading the Nexus 7k vPC best practices guide at http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/sw/design/vpc_design/vpc_best_practices_design_guide.pdf

I see on page 27 that "We recommend that you create an additional Layer 2 trunk port-channel as an interswitch link to transport
non-vPC VLAN traffic."

Then on page 31, I see "The vPC peer-link is a standard 802.1Q trunk that can perform the following actions:
- Carry vPC and non-vPC VLANs..."

So which is it?

We have 4 FEXs which will be going into play, and that's probably a topic for another question (best practices for host connectivity - LACP with vPC vs Active/Standby links) - but realizing that some devices only have a single link, i.e. Integrated Lights-Out on the HP servers, will this non-vPC traffic be forwarded over the vPC peer link as well, or do I need to create a different L2 trunk link between the 9ks to provide connectivity for these hosts?

If I need to create another link, should I then split the 160Gb pipe into 2x 80Gb pipes, or leave all four 40G links connected and create a new trunk with a couple 10G ports?  I haven't read the details on how the traffic will be carried across the vPC peer link / what the utilization will be