cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Programming language for network engineer ?

from88
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

As a network engineer i want to expand my knowledge and start learning some programming language. For scripts, to manage lot of network devices and etc... but i don't know with which programming language to start learning? i heard that Perl is good, also Python... i need your help, thanks..;)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

sean_evershed
Level 7
Level 7

My tip is Python. See this link from the latest CiscoLive as one example. It compares the benefits of learning Python and studying for the CCIE.

https://www.ciscolive.com/online/connect/sessionDetail.ww?SESSION_ID=84165&backBtn=true

If you do a search across all CiscoLive sessions from San Diego this year you get 15 sessions so it is growing in popularity. The same search reveals no references to Perl.

Learning Python will put you in a good position if you also want to move into SDN in the future.

I would also like to add that there is no link between Python and TCL.

Perl was first released in 1987 and Python in 1989 and so they are fairly similar in age.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

EEM is based on TCL programming and is very useful on Cisco devices , eem is not a full language but a good one to know 

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/ios/netmgmt/configuration/guide/12_2sx/nm_12_2sx_book/nm_eem_overview.html

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/ios-xml/ios/ios_tcl/configuration/12-4t/ios-tcl-12-4t-book/nm-script-tcl.html

Thanks but in bigger picture, what about Python, Perl ?